Ink consistency problems

Ask or answer questions related to the flexo pressroom environment

Moderator: Frank Burgos

Ink consistency problems

Postby barb » Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:32 pm

Hi guys, newbie here!

I'm a prepress operator but recently I figured there's really not much sense if my prepress is good if our pressrom has no standards and system for consistency.

So - I decided to dig into the density and ink mixing problems we have. I didn't notice we had THAT much of a problem until our customer ordered about 15 products with same design/same colors/same prepress/same plates. The situation is that we printed about 3-4 runs on Monday, fresh ink from dispenser, new doctors blades, etc., we finished at 3PM and started next day at 8AM and BAM - the first print is waay too off/too red (we focus on the part with the solid tone made of CMY).
Operator then goes ahead and tries to get the correct shade while loosing about one hour and repro material and also start loosing his mind. Last call was to change the doctor blade, so he does that and gets kiiiinda of a correct shade but still you can measure and see the difference.

I will use the search option for topics that interest me but I would still like to discuss my particular questions I'm trying to figure out...
1. How do you define when do you need to change the doctor blades? (currently I think they change it at about 100,000m or earlier if there's are problem like this one)
2. Is it possible to get the EXACT shade and density the next day with leftover ink as well as with the fresh one? (given that all other parameters stay intact)
3. If the material, design, viscosity and pressures are identical - does that mean that density should be automatically identical too?

Man, this is frustrating.... :x
barb

Re: Ink consistency problems

Postby Frank Burgos » Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:18 pm

Hi Barb,