Ink density - anilox or formula impact?

Ask or answer questions related to the flexo pressroom environment

Moderator: Frank Burgos

Ink density - anilox or formula impact?

Postby barb » Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:28 pm

Sorry guys but I need your help again, I can't seem to find any useful literature on this subject and our ink supplier is not much of a help on this matter...

The problem is - our ink densities are mostly lower than they should be, especially black - at most time and speed we have about 0,9-1 density.
Viscosities are monitored through the machines automatic system and for all four process colors are kept around 20.

As a prepress operator I've been shouting that our black is way too weak, and at most time more gray than black but each time I would get an answer that we can't get it stronger because we have too fine aniloxes for cmyk jobs but I just can't accept that answer and I think no one until now has taken the time and will to figure it out.

Aniloxes are 450 l/cm, 4,5 cm3/m2 and our ink formulation is for example: 50% base black, 25% technical varnish for lamination, 10% base varnish and 15% alcohol.

Since I really don't have any knowledge on what precisely those components do I'm stuck on messing with formulations. I tried one blind test with 60% base black 15% technical 15% base and 10% alcohol but got the same result. Then we added about 2 deciliters of methoxy (that one that 'slows' the ink) into 15kg of ink and I measured 1,30 density but right after the second stop and run it dropped again to 1,05.

I also tried googling some info on ink formulation but most of it is for water based, ours is solvent based.

I know this is to much to ask but I really can't seem to find any help around me and I'd appreciate any of your advices.
barb

Re: Ink density - anilox or formula impact?

Postby Gory » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:01 am